Psalm 73:26 “My flesh and my heart fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

I have recently tried to keep a lot of my boring personal life out of my blog, but that really leads to an awful case of writer’s block and a non-moving blog. So, I figured I would just offer a little update to any followers who may be interested and hope that God gets a little glory from it all.

So over the last couple months, I have been serving in the homeless shelter in southern Indiana, and then more often in Hope Central, serving those needing a little help making ends meet. I had been keeping busy also helping foster dogs, with 18 of them at my place at one point. I adopted one, had accidentally fallen head over heals in love with a previously abandoned and starved little boy puppy (pictures will surely come soon, I am so in love). God had been using me in many ways, as I could see, and blessing me beyond what I deserve. He is so wonderful.

Anyway, as my busy life continued, day after day my heart had been giving me some troubles and making life a little challenging (at least I think it is my heart). I had been getting dizzy most times when I stood more than 20 minutes and even climbing one flight of stairs was becoming increasingly difficult and would result in more dizziness and blurry vision. For a somewhat in-shape 19 year old, I know these things aren’t normal. After one episode of walking a few blocks ending in passing out, vomiting and shaking for two hours, my cardiologist back in Minnesota told me I had to find a flight back up north as soon as possible to find what was going on.

So, here I am, in Minnesota for heart testing. I have had two appointments so far in the week I’ve been here, and I have a final one in 3 days. My symptoms aren’t typical for just Marfan’s Syndrome (which I was diagnosed with at the age of 10), but hopefully they find what is going on so I can feel better.

Whatever the doctors find or say, I know God has all control. If I am in your prayers, thank you, and pray that God takes all glory from whatever he has in store for me, that I can be a tool for him.

My encouragement this evening:

From Psalm 41 (ESV) “Blessed is the one who considers the poor. In the day of trouble the Lord delivers him; the Lord protects him and keeps him alive; he is called blessed in the land; you do not give him up to the will of his enemies. The Lord sustains him on his sickbed; in his illness you restore him to full health. As for me, I said. ‘O Lord, be gracious to me; heal me, for I have sinned against you!'”…”By this I know you delight in me: my enemy will not shout in triumph over me. But you have upheld me because of my integrity and set me in your presence forever.”

One thought on “Psalm 73:26 “My flesh and my heart fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

  1. Aww girl. You’re definitely in my prayers! I know it sounds cliché, but He is faithful – lean on Him & His promises! Miss you!

Leave a Reply

